In 1995, Mike created the Dan Hodge Trophy which goes each year to the top college wrestler in the nation. Mike’s goal was to create a trophy for wrestling that would rival the Heisman trophy in football. He named the trophy after the legendary Sooner, known for his pinning prowess. “One of the main goals was to put more emphasis back on the pin,” said Mike.

Criteria for the award includes a wrestler’s record, number of pins, dominance on the mat, past credentials, quality of competition, sportsmanship/citizenship and heart.

The trophy is presented by ASICS, and co-sponsored by WIN Magazine and Culture House, a company owned by Mike and Bev that promotes the sport of wrestling and Hollywood personalities. The award is generally presented at the season-ending banquet of the winning wrestler’s school and again at half time of a football game the following fall. It is estimated that over 1 million fans have seen the trophy presented at the football games over the last since 1995.

All-Time Dan Hodge Trophy Winners
Year Name (School)
2017 Zain Retherford (Penn State)
2016 Alex Dieringer (Oklahoma State)
2015 Logan Stieber (Ohio State)
2014 David Taylor (Penn State)
2013 Kyle Dake (Cornell)
2012 David Taylor (Penn State)
2011 Jordan Burroughs (Nebraska)
2010 Jayson Ness (Minnesota)
2009 Jake Herbert (Northwestern)
2008 Brent Metcalf (Iowa)
2007 Ben Askren (Missouri)
2006 Ben Askren (Missouri)
2005 Steve Mocco (Oklahoma State)
2004 Emmett Willson (Mont. St.-Northern)
2003 Eric Larkin (Arizona State)
2002 Cael Sanderson (Iowa State)
2001 Cael Sanderson (Iowa State)
2001 Nick Ackerman (Simpson College)
2000 Cael Sanderson (Iowa State)
1999 Stephen Neal (Cal State Bakersfield)
1998 Mark Ironside (Iowa)
1997 Kerry McCoy (Penn State)
1996 Les Gutches (Oregon State)
1995 T.J. Jaworsky (North Carolina)

For more details on each individual winner, visit WIN Magazine’s Hodge Trophy site.